50 for 50: First Historic Ithaca Mailings Sent Out

Historic Ithaca’s first officers – chairwoman Sylvia Reinhardt, vice-chairwoman Mabel DeMotte, secretary Elizabeth Simpson, and treasurer Dorothy Saperstone – set up their first temporary office at 211 East Seneca Street. From there, they launched a campaign to gauge community interest in the organization. Mailings featuring an illustration of the old City Hall were sent out to state the purpose of the organization and give the date and time of their first meeting. A list of 314 interested “Action Members” had been gathered by the first meeting in January 1967.


Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop us a note so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...

    Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.